South Dakota Certified Social Worker (CSW) Guide - 2022

AKA: South Dakota CSW License

Last Reviewed: May 15th, 2022

South Dakota Certified Social Worker (CSW) Licensure Process

Certified Social Workers can provide advanced non-clinical services without supervision. With this license, CSWs can supervise SWAs and accrue hours toward supervised clinical experience for those preparing to get their CSW-PIP license.

Education Requirements

You will need to complete an MSW or DSW from a CSWE-accredited school is required to become a CSW. Here you can find all schools offering social work degree programs in South Dakota.

Background Check

Each applicant must have a fingerprint-based criminal background check performed. Certain offenses may prevent you from gaining licensure, and for a list of those offenses, visit the Board’s website. State law requires these registries also be checked:

  • Central Registry of Child Abuse and Neglect check
  • Sex Offender Registry check
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) criminal record fingerprint check
  • National Crime Information Center (NCIC) sex offender registry check

Examination Requirements

Once the Board approves your application, you can register for the ASWB Master’s exam. The test costs $230 and consists of 170 multiple-choice questions. The exam assesses your knowledge of master’s-level social work. The ASWB automatically sends your scores to the Board within two weeks of your test date.

Applying for Licensure as a Certified Social Worker

The process begins with submitting an application for licensure to the Board. In the packet, be sure to include the following:

Ask your school or program to send a copy of your official transcript to the Board at:

South Dakota Board of Social Work Examiners

810 N. Main St., Suite 298

Spearfish, SD 57783

Once the Board has reviewed your application packet, they will send you a letter to inform you that you can register for the ASWB Master’s exam. Download the instructions and checklist to ensure your application packet is complete. Your licensure process will be delayed if all of the information is not received and properly filled out.

Register for the test and pay the $230 fee. You can access the practice exam to test your knowledge prior to the scheduled test date. Immediately after completing the exam, you will be given a copy of your scores, and another copy is submitted to the Board by the ASWB. When the Board can confirm that you’ve passed the exam, you will be issued a CSW license.