Kansas Licensed Specialist Clinical Social Worker (LSCSW) Guide - 2023
AKA: Kansas LSCSW License
What's Here? - Table of Contents
This is the highest level of licensure for a social worker in Kansas and the only one that permits you to practice without supervision. LSCSWs offer key clinical services such as:
They are also able to supervise the work of LBSWs and LMSWs.
A master’s degree in social work (MSW) from a CSWE-accredited school or program is necessary to obtain an LSCSW license in Kansas.
Prior to starting the process for LSCSW licensure, you need an LMSW license to gain the supervised experience needed. You’ll also have to earn 4,000 hours of social work experience as an LMSW. A minimum of 1,500 hours must include face-to-face contact with clients, and another 500 hours must be spent performing other clinical services. As you complete the required hours, you must receive 150 hours of total supervision. That translates to two hours for every twenty hours of work. All of these hours must be supervised by an LCSW who has been practicing for two years or more.
Before starting your supervised experience, a Clinical Supervision Training Plan must be submitted with your official job description for approval from the Board. You can only begin accruing hours once your plan is approved, and you have two to six years to complete the supervised experience.
After you’ve completed your supervised experience, you can fill out and send in the LSCSW Application to the Board and the application fee. Your school also needs to send an official copy of your MSW transcript to the Board. Three professional references must be submitted, one from your current supervisor. The other two must be from LSCSWs that can confirm your work. Finally, a copy of your job descriptions for the positions you received supervision and a completed coursework grid must be sent to the Board.
There is a section on the application where you are required to disclose any felony or misdemeanor convictions against a person. A criminal background check will be conducted, and you must pass in order to be granted a social work license.
Once the Board reviews your application, you’ll be notified if you are eligible to register for the ASWB Clinical Exam. If approved, you will take the 170 multiple-choice question exam, where 150 questions are scored. Within two weeks of taking the test, your scores are sent to the Board.
If the school or university has not already done so, ask the institution to send the Board your final transcript. Your LSCSW license will be granted once all supporting documentation shows you have met the licensing requirements. You are then able to practice social work independently and privately in Kansas.