Colorado Licensed Social Worker (LSW) Guide - 2023
AKA: Colorado LSW License
What's Here? - Table of Contents
As an LSW, you are permitted to provide individuals with clinical social work services.
An MSW obtained from a CSWE-accredited program is required for an LSW license in Colorado.
Find all MSW programs offered in Colorado, here.
You must complete two years of post-degree supervised experience to become an LSW.
You must pass two exams before submitting your application to the Board. The Mental Health Jurisprudence Examination is an open-book, untimed exam consisting of 45 multiple-choice questions. It’s designed to test your knowledge of Colorado’s mental health treatment laws and regulations. The testing fee is $20, and you’ll need a minimum score of 500 to pass.
The second exam will be the ASWB advanced generalist exam or clinical exam. If you plan to go on and obtain to become an LCSW, you should take the clinical exam as it’s required for that license. The exam cost is $260.
Once both exams have been passed, submit the LSW application to the Board via the Division of Professions and Occupations Online Services. View the LSW Online Application Checklist to ensure you send in the proper documentation. The application fee is $70.
You are expected to disclose any criminal convictions or arrests on the application. A section of the application asks this question, and you can be disqualified for not answering truthfully. While you are not required to submit fingerprints, the Board may still check your name against any criminal history database.