Colorado Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) Guide - 2023
AKA: Colorado LCSW License
What's Here? - Table of Contents
The LCSW is the most advanced license you can receive as a social worker as it permits you to practice clinical social work independently.
You must obtain an MSW from a CSWE-accredited school or program. If your supervised post-degree experience was completed in Colorado, an LSW license is needed before beginning the application process.
An LCSW license requires 3,360 hours of post-degree clinical social work experience over 24 months. Half of the hours must be spent directly serving clients. The work needs to be supervised by an LCSW for at least 96 hours. Your supervisor will fill out a Post-Degree Experience and Supervision Form once you’ve completed your hours. Submit this form with your online application.
You’re required to pass the Mental Health Jurisprudence Examination with a score of 500 or higher. If you passed the exam to receive your LSW license, contact the Board to determine if you’ll need to retake the test. The open-book, 45 multiple-choice questions exam costs $20. Your knowledge of Colorado’s mental health laws and regulations will be assessed.
The ASWB clinical exam is the next test you will have to pass and comes with a $260 exam fee.
Once your 3,360 hours and exams are completed, the next step is to apply for your LCSW license. Submit your application using the Division of Professions and Occupations Online Services webpage. Be sure to review the Online LCSW Checklist before submitting your application. The fee for the license is $70.
You are expected to disclose any criminal convictions or arrests on the application. A section of the application asks this question, and you can be disqualified for not answering truthfully. While you are not required to submit fingerprints, the Board may still check your name against any criminal history database.