West Virginia Social Worker License Guide - 2024

Social Worker License

by Social Worker License Staff

Updated: February 16th, 2024

Social Worker Licensing Guide for the state of West Virginia

Social work is one of the fastest-growing fields today. Social workers are highly intelligent individuals who also need to be emotionally strong to take on unique tasks every day.

West Virginia Social Work License Options

Social work means facing social challenges at all levels. From antiquated policies to unimaginable social situations, you will experience them all. But at the end of the day, what you do has a positive effect on the community and can make the world a better place.

If you are the type of person looking to make a difference, then social work is a career for you. You are there to provide a voice for people who need to be heard. That includes the at-risk population of your community. They need your help to be given a chance for normalcy in their lives.

West Virginia is among the states with the highest percentage of Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or SNAP, recipients. That indicates a growing problem for many people. Social workers in the state are doing the best they can to close the gap. If you want to get a job as a social worker in West Virginia, you will need to apply for a license.

The West Virginia Board of Social Work is the governing body overseeing all applications for licensing in the state. The board decides on the policies and process on how you can become one. If you have problems with your licensing or have questions, you can contact the board by calling (304) 400-4980 or emailing them at admin@wvsocialworkboard.org.

You can also continue reading this guide to learn about the process of becoming a licensed social worker in West Virginia. It can seem like a lot of information to take in at first, but it is a fairly straightforward process.

There are four regular license types in the state:

  1. Level A – Licensed Social Worker or LSW License
  2. Level B – Licensed Graduate Social Worker or LGSW License
  3. Level C – Licensed Certified Social Worker or LCSW License
  4. Level D – Licensed Independent Clinical Social Work or LICSW License

Each one has varying requirements and purposes. You can upgrade your license after completing the requirements of the higher level.

Start your journey towards making a difference in your community through this guide.