Texas Licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker (LBSW) Guide - 2024

AKA: Texas LBSW License

Social Worker License

by Social Worker License Staff

Updated: February 16th, 2024

LBSWs can provide non-clinical services such as:

  • Social work services for individuals, families, couples, and groups
  • Restore and enhance a client’s psychosocial or biopsychosocial functions
  • Advocacy
  • Interviews
  • Case management
  • Supportive counseling

Follow below to learn how to become a Licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker in Texas.

Texas Licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker (LBSW) Licensure Process

Education Requirements

You must gain a bachelor’s in social work (BSW) from one of the CSWE-accredited programs. It typically takes four years to complete your BSW, which gives you a general impression of the profession. You’ll perform work for human services and community organizations.

Here you can find all schools offering social work degree programs in Texas.

Background Check

You are required to pass a criminal background check for licensure. The information for the steps you need to take is sent to you after submitting your application. You will have to have your fingerprints taken at a participating facility.

Examination Requirements

Texas requires you to pass their Jurisprudence Examination to earn an LBSW license. The exam reinforces your knowledge of Texas state laws and regulations in an effort to protect citizens from ethical or legal violations and comes with a $40 testing fee. Print the certificate available after passing the exam to send to the Board. After passing the exam, you are allowed to submit an application for licensure.

You must also pass the ASWB Bachelor’s exam, which is a four-hour test with a $230 registration fee. The test ensures students are acquainted with the key subject areas and have the appropriate skill set to assist clients.

Applying for Licensure as a Licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker

You must submit your application for LBSW licensure online by registering through the Online Licensing System. The $91 application fee can be paid once you check out. You can scan the following documents to upload with your application or mail them in if they cannot be scanned:

  • Jurisprudence Examination Completion Certificate
  • National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) self-query report – leave this unopened and mail it in
  • ASWB scores (they will be electronically transmitted by the ASWB)
  • Official transcript from BSW program

Once you submit your application, you’ll receive a confirmation email with a link to complete the background check’s fingerprinting process. You are responsible for any fees that need to be paid to the fingerprinting facility.

Your school should send an electronic transcript to: transcripts@bhec.texas.gov. Mail hard copies to:

BHEC SW Transcripts

333 Guadalupe St., Ste. 3-900

Austin, Texas 78701

Consult with the User Guides for information on how to create your online account and use other online services. After receiving all required documentation, your application will be approved, and you can sit for the ASWB exam. Wait for the Board’s approval before registering, as it can take up to 8-10 weeks to receive a response. Once your request has been accepted, register for and schedule the exam.

After the Board receives your passing score, you will be granted an LBSW license.