Minnesota Licensed Graduate Social Worker (LGSW) Guide - 2023
AKA: Minnesota LGSW License
What's Here? - Table of Contents
The LGSW license is the second level of licensure for social work in Minnesota. A masters degree in social work, or higher, is a compulsory requirement.
Follow below to learn how to become a Licensed Graduate Social Worker in Minnesota.
Applicants for an LGSW license must hold at least a master’s in social work (MSW) from a CSWE-accredited program or one accredited by the CASSW or any other social work education accrediting agency. Such education prepares one to handle more complex tasks than would be expected of an LSW license holder.
Here you can find all schools offering social work degree programs in Minnesota.
You will need to achieve a passing score in the ASWB Master Level Examination. This is a computer-based test, 4 hours in duration, which includes 170 multiple-choice questions.
You can apply online or download an application form and send a completed copy to the ASWB by fax or mail. The test fee is $230. Once your test application is completed, you will receive an Authorization to Test (ATT) containing relevant information about scheduling your test on the website and other things you need to know. Your test results will be sent to the board by the ASWB about two weeks from the date of your test.
Social work students in an MSW program may apply for licensure six months before finishing to take the ASWB Master’s test.
All applicants for an initial license (by examination or reciprocity) or license reactivation are required to have a fingerprint-based CBC run on them. The CBC fee is $33.25 and it is charged with the application fee when applying online.
Once the board receives and accepts your application, fees, and supporting documents, you will be sent information and relevant forms for the CBC. You are responsible for getting your fingerprints captured. This can be done for $10 at the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA) Office (St. Paul) or any law enforcement agency or private vendor at their fixed fee. Note that CBC results are not shared, hence you will still need to do one for licensure whether you have done one for previous internships, military, or employment purposes. The BCA typically takes 3 weeks to process fingerprints received.
Apply and pay online on the board website or download the application for licensure form and mail a filled copy to the board. Your application must include the $60 application fee to be considered valid. For a mail application, a check or money order made payable to the board suffices.
Complete a fingerprint-based criminal background check. If you already hold a social work license in Minnesota, you might be exempted from this requirement.
The board requires that an original copy of your transcript be sent to them from the institution where you obtained your MSW. The transcript must contain the degree, major, and date conferred. It can be sent by mail or email. No license will be issued without this on record.
Register for and take the ASWB Master’s examination. Your passing scores will be communicated to the board by the ASWB.
Finally, you must pay the initial license fee to activate your license. The fee for an LGSW license is $167.75. This makes your license valid for two years. It expires in your birth month, two calendar years from the issue date.