Louisiana Social Worker License Renewal Guide - 2022

Last Reviewed: May 9th, 2022

Licensor: LABSWE

It is mandatory for every Louisiana social worker to renew their license annually by August 31. As a requirement for renewal, you must obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) per year, which includes at least three CE hours of professional ethics every other year. LCSWs must complete 10 CE hours in clinical content as a part of their 20 hours, and LCSW-BACS must complete three hours in supervision every two years.

As of February 2019, the fees to renew a social work license are as follows:

  • Registered Social Worker: $28
  • Licensed Master Social Worker: $53
  • Licensed Clinical Social Worker: $75

Steps to renew your license:

Step 1: Log in to CERTEMY using your email address and password.

Step 2: Enter the email address on file with LABSWE. 

On your first attempt to log in to CERTEMY, use a temporary password: Certemy2021! 

It is important that you remember to change your password. You may change your password at any time using the “Reset Password” link on the Certemy login page.

Once you are logged in, your license will be visible on the left side of the screen.

Step 3: Click “ACCEPT” and then, when prompted, click “PROCEED IN CERTEMY” for each license(s) to confirm and maintain the license(s).

Then click on the steps on the right side of your screen to view or complete the corresponding requirement.

Once you have completed all steps or you are in a “Pending verification” status, your renewal application will be sent to the LABSWE Administrator for review and approval.

NB: You will see the status (complete, pending verification, partially completed, or incomplete) for each step as well as the accompanying step due date. You will automatically be sent email alerts as you approach the due date for any incomplete step. 

Additional License Renewal Information

The Board allows all Continuing Education Units (CEUs) to be completed via distance learning through August 31.

Renewal is required by August 31 of each year. Failure to renew your license by August 31 will result in a lapsed license. Individuals with a lapsed license are not eligible to practice social work.

Renewal of license between September 1 – November 30 is without any additional fee.

Renewal of license between December 1 – February 28 is with an additional fee.

To learn more about accessing the CERTEMY platform and renewing your license, check out this video. 

For further inquiries: please email socialwork@labswe.org.

For any technical questions, please contact support@certemy.com or call (866) 907-4088 and leave a voicemail.

License Restoration

Your forfeited license can be restored when you request a hard copy of the restoration form. You can call (866) 907-4088 for inquiries. 

License Verification

Click here to verify your license. Note that online license verification is free.