California has no reciprocity agreement in place with other states. However, out-of-state social workers can transfer their licenses using an online form. They must also take the California course on laws and ethics and complete any other required coursework.
If you’ve maintained your clinical social worker’s license for at least four years in another state, you meet California’s qualification to become an LCSW. Anyone holding a license less than four years needs to prove they’ve completed 3,200 hours while supervised by an LCSW for 104 weeks.
When your state does not have equivalent requirements, the Board will accept any time actively licensed in your state. The rate is 100 hours per month, maxing out at 1,200 hours. Send the documentation with the Verification of Licensure form.