Michigan Social Worker Re-Licensure & License Renewal Guide - 2022

Last Reviewed: May 14th, 2022

Re-Licensure

Fee – $117.20 

If you had a license in another state or territory, you can request relicensure in Michigan. Apply for re-licensure here. Click on ‘Licenses’, then ‘Modification’, and lastly ‘Relicensure’.

The licensing authority of the state or territory of your previous license should send a Verification of Licensure to the board via mail to bpldata@michigan.gov or the Bureau of Public Licensing, PO Box 30670, Lansing, Michigan.

You will need to provide evidence of completion of 45 hours of Continuing Education (CE). Your CE must include 2 hours in Human Trafficking, 2 hours in Pain and/or Symptom Management, and 5 hours in Ethics.

If your license has been expired for more than three years, then you will need the following:

  • Criminal Background Check. The board will guide you on obtaining one after approving your application.
  • One thousand hours of supervised work experience to help you familiarize yourself with your roles and duties.

If your license has expired for more than seven years and you do not possess a license in another state or territory, you will need to pass the ASWB qualifying exam.

License Renewal

Fees – $81

Michigan laws require that social work licenses be renewed every three years. Click here to renew your license.

You will need to provide evidence of completion of 45 hours of Continuing Education (CE). Your CE must include 2 hours in Human Trafficking, 2 hours in Pain and/or Symptom Management, and 5 hours in Ethics.