Georgia Master Social Worker (MSW) Guide - 2023
AKA: Georgia MSW License
What's Here? - Table of Contents
If you are interested in the administrative side of social work, you can pursue a career as a master social worker (MSW). Then, you can serve as a case manager, policy analyst, or in another administrative role. While you won’t be able to work in a clinical setting, you’ll still play an essential role in the well-being of clients and your community as a whole. Thus, it’s an enriching and rewarding career, and you’ll get to watch as your hard, dedicated work makes a difference. Before you can embark on it, though, you must meet all the licensing requirements.
Georgia requires that applicants earn a master’s degree in social work before obtaining an MSW. You have to attend a program that’s accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) for it to count toward your licensing requirement.
Georgia has seven CSWE programs available . This includes an assortment of in-person and online options, so you can attend a school or take classes from home if you prefer. Review the available programs before picking one to take on your path toward licensure. Find all schools offering accredited social work degree programs in Georgia, here.
You will gain lots of experience in the field while obtaining your master’s degree. Fortunately, that experience is all you need to meet the requirement. Thus, you do not have to hold a job in social work before getting your MSW.
You are only allowed to take the national exam after meeting all the other licensing requirements. Thus, you will submit your application and supporting documents before the board approves you to sit for the exam.
When approved, you’ll register through the Association of Social Work Boards (ASBW). The registration fee for the master’s exam is $230 and must be paid when you schedule the test.
Because this test is a critical component of getting your license, you want to ensure you’re ready. The ASWB has study materials available for purchase on its website. You can also take a practice test on the site to fine-tune your skills before the big test. The practice test is available for 30 days after creating your account, so take it often if needed.
The state must run a background check to ensure you’re suitable to work as an MSW. You’ll provide information in your application for it to use when running the check. Additionally, you might be required to submit a Consent Form so the Georgia Bureau of Investigation can run an additional check.
While you don’t need experience, you will have to submit references from two people who can vouch for your social work abilities. You can choose teachers or supervisors who know about your social work knowledge to provide references.
You also must prove citizenship as part of your application. First, fill out the Affidavit Regarding Citizenship and have it notarized. You will also need to provide a copy of your driver’s license, passport, or another form of verifiable documentation. The state provides a list of secure and verifiable documents you can use when completing this portion of your application.
If you are not a U.S. citizen, you’ll need to include qualified alien documentation to prove you are eligible to work in the country.
If you are licensed in another state, it will not carry over in Georgia since the state doesn’t offer licenses by reciprocity. However, you’re still required to verify your existing or previous license before getting one in Georgia. Thus, complete the Application for Master Social Worker Licensure – Verification of Licensure form as part of your application. You only need to do this if you are or have been licensed in another state.
After meeting the requirements and gathering your supporting documentation, you’ll be ready to apply. You can apply online through the Georgia Online Application Services portal or print a paper application to fill out and submit.
If you choose a paper application, mail it to the following:Georgia State Board of Professional Counselors, Social Workers and Marriage and Family Therapists
You will need to pay $110 and have the application notarized if mailing it. The fee is reduced to $105 if you submit it online due to the lower processing fees.